in london

03Aug07

so I’m in London to do some preliminary research. In the two months since I passed exams, I have (barely) written two term papers and a dissertation prospectus and my advisor has given an okay to the general topic, although giving many helpful comments as well. So now I’m here to do some beginning research. I’ll be here for six weeks and I figure now is as good a time as any to start blogging more frequently and to start getting more involved in the blogging community of academics. I’m less stressed, less busy, and a little more isolated even though I have a fair few friends here.

I am staying in a bed and breakfast in one of London’s many outskirts and this b&b has several rooms, one being a studio room with cooking facilities, tv, microwave, refrigerator, etc. This studio/bedsit is the room that I’m staying in. And it’s nice enough. But it’s an old house and my host seems to love gardening, antique collecting, dogs, and knick knacks b/c the place is a little cluttered. again, let me stress, the room is fine but it reminded me, especially since my friends who live here are in nice apartments in central London, of what exactly it means to be a budding historian, or a historian more broadly. This may be my life (although I hope at some point to be able to afford a London apartment sublet): but this could be my life, moving from questionable room to questionable room. There’s something still kind of exciting about it but even though I’m really young, I feel a little old for it. Any thoughts?

2 Responses to “in london”

  1. Thanks for your fantastic offer to take on the grad carnival. I don’t think it matters if there’s a few months where you can’t run it. If you are lucky, you might be able to get enough host volunteers to cover that period, and otherwise no carnival for a few months is still better than no carnival at all ever 🙂

    EA offered to keep the blogroll on the carnival site up-to-date, so she could do that bit, and you could do the rest.

    Do you still have a blogger ID? If so, let me know it, and I’ll give you access to the carnival website so that you can take over. At the moment, there is a carnival gmail account too that gets passed around from host to host. I’ll give you the password and username to that as well.

    As I said before, it’s totally up to you how you want to run the thing. You may find you are able to get lots of hosts, in which case you can keep doing it the way it was. If you don’t get volunteers, you might want to choose to run it less frequently. Feel free to do whatever suits you.

    If you send me an email so I have a private way to contact you, I’ll pass on the password and username info you need.


  1. 1 Music To Your Home

Leave a Reply

