re-emerging

21Aug07

what’s a staple feature of the research trip? sketchy access to wireless internet.

things are going well enough…i’ve realized just how massive my project is which both takes the pressure off me for this one trip (nothing I do during this six weeks will make a huge dent in the dissertation) but also means that I don’t feel quite as compelled to work steadily. I’m busy now thinking about how much time I will need here and elsewhere to do the research for this project, rather than steadily plodding through the documents at the moment.

but when i get back to the US, I know just how much work I will have to do in the fall. I’ll be teaching for the first time (eee!!) and I’ll be reworking my dissertation prospectus before leaving for research for about a year and a half, give or take. but this trip has given me a sense of at least one genre of sources and i’ll have to tailor my research schedule accordingly, since it has taken me much longer than I expected to get through even just one of these volumes.

No Responses Yet to “re-emerging”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

