more reasons why i may be unfit to be a historian…

07Feb08

I don’t know what it is about the word “epistemology” and its derivatives that makes me always run to the dictionary to check out its meaning (I could say the same for “heuristic” as well). Every single time I see those words, even when I remember having looked them up the last time I ran across them, I’m reaching for my pocket dictionary from college. I don’t know what it is but I have absolutely no recall when it comes to those two words.

By the way, the title of this post is a tongue-in-cheek reference to an interesting debate over at The Bitter and the Sweet about history graduate students who may happen to believe in young earth theory and whether they are suited for the profession. The conversation’s over but it was an interesting one nonetheless.

2 Responses to “more reasons why i may be unfit to be a historian…”

  1. k, i read the comment thread over there and I’m speechless. you are right, btw.

  2. 2 servetus

    Do not say that. As is obvious from what I said there, I found that attitude offensive–but academia needs more people who are interested in questioning their fundamental attitudes and assumptions about life in an honest way. This is an absolutely necessary quality in a historian.


Leave a Reply

