upping my game

28Sep08

Last week was bad research-wise. I’m not the most productive person generally; this week needs to be better. I have less than two months left and I do need to leave here with enough material to write a few chapters. This week I’m supposed to start writing my first chapter. It’s not the first chapter of the dissertation but it’s the first chapter I’m going to write. I don’t really know what writing is going to mean in the early phases. I haven’t read the documents; I’ve just gathered them. So at the moment, writing a chapter means reading through my sources, thinking about my narrative and my argument, and somehow writing this down.

I’m almost finished with my book review; a friend of mine is looking over it and then I’ll do final line edits and send it off. I’m glad I did it. I’m seriously out of practice when it comes to writing (and reading, for that matter). It took me a really long time to read the book and about as long to write the review. Then again, I don’t remember the last time I read a book cover to cover. I know this is common for graduate students but this includes certain major books in my field, a few of which are my advisor’s. It’s also been a really long time since I’ve taken my writing seriously. So maybe it’s less that I’m out of practice but that I need to practice because I’ve never been all that good at reading and writing anyway. I’m cool with that.

No Responses Yet to “upping my game”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

