research woes

02Oct08

Here’s what I want to know: when I decided upon a dissertation project that consisted of four to five case studies, each spanning several months to a year but spread out over a period of about fifty years, and each involving reading several daily newspapers, why didn’t my advisor and my friends say a collective “Whoa now!”?  Especially considering that this newspaper work is really only a third of my research base: the first being in global south country and the second being those massive volumes I can’t get through. I love the material you get from newspaper sources but damn it’s tedious. I’ve overcome my aversion to microfilm but there’s no good way to move through things quickly when typing’s too slow, digital cameras aren’t allowed, and copies cost £0.60/page.

I’m glad I took that time off but now I’m paying the price. Even with a second several-month trip planned for next spring, it’s still not looking good, folks.

No Responses Yet to “research woes”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

