fall tv roundup, part 2

16Oct08

Here are my thoughts for a few more returning shows.

Survivor: I had stopped watching Survivor after watching Survivor: Africa in college but got started again a few seasons ago when the sister of my favorite Project Runway contestant Nick Verreos was on Survivor: Fiji. That season was panned at the beginning but the very slow start was followed by some of the best strategy I’ve ever seen on any reality show. In fact, there’s one tribal council that sticks in my mind as the best in the series. Anyway, I’ve been following ever since. I am behind on this season but what I did see was great.

Lipstick jungle: It’s unclear why I decided to start watching again after missing most of last season’s episodes but it’s been surprisingly good this season. I’ll enjoy it while it lasts.

Real World/Road Rules Challenge: Like Survivor but so much trashier, this show is reliable entertainment and I’m a sucker for the challenges. They always make me laugh hysterically at people who take themselves too seriously and I always wonder what jobs these people are holding down that they can just dip out of work for five to six weeks every four to five months. But it’s good to see vets like Abram and Derrick becoming the elder statesmen of the show and seemingly all-around decent people.

Mad Men: probably the highest quality television show that I’m watching from US tv currently. There’s really nothing to say here: it’s almost perfection.

Things I’m not watching this season that I have in the past: Ugly Betty, Project Runway, the Hills, Top Design, etc etc. Most of those will be on heavy repeat rotation during the holidays. I’ll have time.

Oh, and if Friday Night Lights weren’t on Direct TV, that would be the highest quality tv show I’d be watching. Shame on those of you who weren’t watching over the past two seasons.

I’ll share my thoughts on the new shows in part 3. Yes, I’m watching even more tv and that doesn’t even account for the British stuff I watch. Now that I’m listing things, it’s pretty ridiculous that I watch this much television and don’t get paid for it.

3 Responses to “fall tv roundup, part 2”

  1. Wow, we have very similar tastes in television. ( If my DVR were a man, and I didn’t like N.A. so much, I’d totally marry this most wonderful invention.)

    My friends like to deny that they watch TV at all, let alone The Hills… I applaud your honesty!!

  2. 2 thefrogprincess

    Oh I know what you mean, although how honest am I being as I write under a pseudonym? But I do talk about television a lot to my friends and I’ve found that if one person is willing to go there, people will follow. I’ve had conversations with graduate students I’m not that close to and we’ve been talking about 24, Gossip Girl, Laguna Beach, and these were conversations with men as well as women. So I’m over hiding my television consumption ’cause we’re all doing it.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful &
    it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and
    aid others like you aided me.


Leave a Reply

