fall tv roundup, part 3

17Oct08

And finally, my thoughts on this season’s new offerings. In general, there’s a lot that’s good, although nothing is immediately as gripping as some of my favorite pilots (Lost, Desperate Housewives, and of course Alias).

I should say that I haven’t watched any of the comedy premieres and probably won’t. I prefer drama.

Life on Mars: I never saw the original series; I’ll have to find a way to watch it at some point. So I can’t make a comparison to the old show but this seems like a solid enough offering. Jason O’Mara’s cute enough to hold my attention for a few weeks and the music’s good.

My Own Worst Enemy: Promising. We’ll see where it goes. I’m usually a sucker for anything spy oriented so I’ll probably watch this until it ends.

Privileged: Fluffy but fun. Much better than 90210.

90210: Couldn’t get through the second hour of the pilot and haven’t watched since. Never watched the original series until a few weeks ago and those first three episodes were infinitely more entertaining.

Eleventh Hour: Didn’t make a huge impression either way. I’ll give it another few chances.

Fringe: JJ Abrams has never led me astray. It’s a tad uneven but it’s one of the best new shows I’ve watched this season.

The Mentalist: This was probably my favorite pilot but I can’t get the remaining episodes here. I think it’s pretty good but I also love Simon Baker more than most people.

And that’s it, folks; that’s all the stateside TV that I’m watching. It’s a lot but at some point, shows will drop off and things will be cancelled.

No Responses Yet to “fall tv roundup, part 3”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

