question

08Mar09

I’ve had a few random conversations with both male and female friends lately about jobs, family, and staying home. In the process of all this chatter, I realized something odd: I’m the only woman I know who wants to get married to a man and have children but who finds the idea of being a housewife (even for just a few years right after having children) utterly abhorrent. There are reasons I find it abhorrent, going back to childhood, but here’s my question. Am I the only woman who finds housewifery to be an utterly unacceptable option, something I could never consider? And more importantly, are the facts that I feel so strongly about this and that I’ve never been in a relationship related somehow?

4 Responses to “question”

  1. 1 catrala

    Interesting observation. I love *being* at home (as does my spouse), but I don’t think I’d want to be a housewife. I respect my Mom a ton and I know why she made the decision to stay home with us, but that doesn’t mean that I can see myself making a similar decision. To quote my spouse, “you would go crazy without your work.”

    So at least to your first question: I’m not sure that it’s an unacceptable option for some people, but it’s not an option I plan to consider.

  2. 2 thefrogprincess

    Yeah, my aversion to being a housewife has nothing to do with not enjoying “being” at home; in fact I can be a bit of a homebody. I think it’s more that I have a real aversion to not making my own money/not contributing to some kind of “family” finances. I also know I’d get bored and frustrated really quickly and I think bored and unfulfilled parents are just as dangerous as absent parents.

  3. You’re not alone, and I don’t think that this is something that men would see as necessarily a “problem,” if that’s what you’re getting at. My mom is/was a stay-at-home mom, and that’s great for her, but it doesn’t interest me. Not to say I would never do it – but it’s not something I’m actively seeking. I’d rather be working.

  4. Do I want to be a stay at home mom? Ugh, no.

    Do I want to retire at 29 and stay home all day? Yes, definitely

    🙂


Leave a Reply

