a random smattering

24Jun09
  • Per usual, now that the end is in sight of this research trip, I’m upping my game. If I want to be successful in this profession, I have to stop lazing about until I have two or three months left and then clicking into gear.
  • I’m not sure if I’ve gained actual weight but I’ve been feeling particularly sluggish and heavy lately. That needs to get sorted.
  • People who handle the problems life hands them without getting completely broken in the process impress me. I find it impossible to remain anything close to happy for any significant length of time.
  • Wimbledon is considerably less interesting to me now that Rafael Nadal’s not playing, a decision of his that I completely support. (Frankly, for several years now, I’ve been questioning his insane playing schedule.) That said, as much as I love the Brits, I just can’t get behind this Andy Murray buzz so I’m hitching my horse to the Roger bandwagon.
  • The last twenty minutes of the Real Housewives of New Jersey finale last week were genius. The best thing I’ve watched in 2009.
  • I’m trying a new writing method for the chapter I need to finish in the next few weeks. I’m taking handwritten notes on the sources rather than the more free form musings I’d done for the last chapter. But again I’m at the same problem: too many sources to read so that the process of writing drags out much longer than my advisor would like. Maybe that’s less about my writing style and more about the unmanageability of my project. I shudder to think what’s going to happen when/if I begin to develop a second book project. Isn’t that the time you really go for broke?
  • While I continue to take horrid care of myself, at least I have booked a weeklong vacation/writing retreat/getting away from it all trip to my favorite part of the UK. Cannot wait.
  • As for cute guy in the cafe, that whole thing caused me much anxiety a few weeks ago. Then I stopped caring and am relatively cool about the whole thing. That being said, although I’ve been to the cafe several times since first seeing him, he’s been there only one of those times. Such a waste of eyeshadow.
  • Music: really loving La Roux, Agnes, and Lady Gaga’s Paparazzi (though not Lady Gaga herself)

That’s enough for now, I think.

No Responses Yet to “a random smattering”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

