things aren’t so hot

29Oct09

In the next three weeks, I have to:

1. write and present a conference paper at the major conference in my field. The paper comes from a chapter I wrote some time ago but I’m increasingly unhappy about this chapter and I have to wrangle it into something presentable and analytical.

2. create the appearance of a compelling project for several fellowship applications.

3. do all this while battling a particularly crippling melancholic spell. I’m struggling to get out of the apartment at this point and I can’t get any work done in the apartment. And even if I do get to campus, I’m generally not getting anything meaningful done either.

It’ll be nothing short of a miracle if I can get this all done without being embarrassed of the result. I’m also pretty much giving up on having a productive semester. The chapter that I needed to write this semester (but that is also a beast) is not going to happen.

3 Responses to “things aren’t so hot”

  1. 1 Kristen Epps

    I know how you feel…that was me last month 😦

    You will do great, and if you’d like me to read any of your applications just let me know. This month will be over before you know it!

  2. 2 Kristen Epps

    P.S. I just bought an inexpensive SAD lamp. I will let you know if it works.

  3. 3 thefrogprincess

    Thanks a ton. I might actually take you up on your offer to read. It would be good for me to have somebody read over it who hasn’t been listening to me talk about my work for the past four years. I’ll email you and let you know.


Leave a Reply

