my thoughts on maine

04Nov09

My first year of graduate school, a friend of mine told me that he couldn’t trust straight people (until they proved themselves to be allies, of course). I was offended. Then again, I had the luxury of getting offended.

But now I get it and he’s right. I wish I didn’t understand because the recognition of all the hatred makes me jaded. Having spent so much time observing the US from the vantage point of the UK hasn’t helped. I’d like to think we’ll move past this soon (although the fact that interracial marriages are still considered sinful in some quarters does not give me a ton of hope). But how many lives are going to be ruined by the hate and fear that underlie votes like yesterday’s.

No Responses Yet to “my thoughts on maine”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

