an update

19Mar10

A few weeks back, I sorta talked around the fact that I’ve been having major departmental problems and a few of you (Anastasia and The History Enthusiast) suggested that I seek out the university ombudsperson.

In continued vague detail, here’s what happened.

In consultation with an old mentor of mine from another university, I’d developed a plan to deal with the main problem and I was generally feeling pretty decent about things. But before I could even start working through my plan, another unrelated(?) problem arose. The situation was so ridiculous and offensive and what I was being asked for was so unacceptable that it all spurred me into significant action.

There was an administrator that people had mentioned to me for several months who has a reputation of being extremely fair and extremely supportive. I’d been putting meeting with her for months; I’m stubborn like that and I have a tendency to bunker down when trouble hits rather than ask for help (childhood and all that). But the situation with the department had escalated to such a point that I couldn’t wait any longer.

I’ve met this woman three times at this point and already it’s a weight off my shoulders. The situation that blew up suddenly has largely been resolved, not completely to my satisfaction but I can’t really complain. And she’s given me more perspective on the longstanding issue and we’ll still be meeting to figure that out.

It’s a good result and there have been precious few of those in the past six months.

3 Responses to “an update”

  1. I can’t tell you how EXCITED I am! That is such a blessing. I hope that things continue to go well. Keep me updated 🙂

  2. 2 servetus

    That’s really great. The risk with these university instances of support is always that they will uphold the position of your opponents, but they can at least force departments to play by the rules. Good for you!

  3. 3 thefrogprincess

    Servetus, I totally know what you mean. The good thing about this administrator is that her job is to be invested in making sure a certain type of student gets through the program, which makes her a great advocate. It’s worked out much better than I could have imagined; I held off speaking with higher ups for months until the situation got too out of hand for precisely the reasons you mention.


Leave a Reply

