sigh

07May10

I got some more bad news today, more university bullshit. Of course I’m not going into it here other than to say that it’s not quite as serious as the other situation but it does have some significant implications.

In other news, my ability to work has vanished once again at precisely the worst moment for me to be unable to do work.

My dissertation, and graduate school in general, are so tainted at this point. Every time I have to think about graduate school or try to work on my dissertation it’s like taking a sip of poison. I have no idea how I’m going to get this done because I literally cannot bear to spend more than five minutes working. This is a battle I need to win: not finishing will destroy me more than finishing will, although the price I will pay to finish will be incredibly steep. But things are really getting ugly on my end.

3 Responses to “sigh”

  1. 1 whitheramp

    one day, when you’re a superstar anti-corporation attorney, you’ll represent grad students screwed over by said Major Eastern Research University, suing it for bajillions and bajillions of dollars.

  2. Yeah, I’ve got the appropriate levels of righteous anger but sadly law is on the absolute bottom of the list of things I’d want to do.

  3. 3 shane

    This is why nearly everyone who finishes a dissertation lets it sit on a shelf for 6 months or so before they even think about turning it into a book manuscript. (And possibly why the professoriate seems to be afflicted with a form of Stockholm syndrome.)

    Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

