tomorrow

28Nov11

Tomorrow I do something that, for at least a 9-month stretch between 2009 and 2010, looked impossible.

I defend my dissertation and become a woman with Dr. before her name and PhD after.

It’s pretty fucking amazing.

I have some thoughts about my journey through grad school and what this moment means, thoughts that I was planning to blog about tonight. But I want to do them justice, and right now my mind is too cluttered with teaching prep for Thursday (never fear people, tomorrow is completely teaching free) and with preparing some opening thoughts for the defense.

Suffice it to say, though, that this was the hardest thing I have ever done, not intellectually but in terms of the numerous obstacles that got placed in my way. And since it was the hardest thing I’ve ever done, I’m uncharacteristically proud of myself for having finished and just generally ecstatic.

Until the doctorate…



4 Responses to “tomorrow”

  1. Congratulations on getting to the end! I have no doubt that you rocked (or will rock, depending on what time it is) your defense today!

  2. Congratulations, and I hope you can celebrate in form!

  3. 3 tanya.roth

    Congrats!!!! Here’s hoping the defense went well and that you’re CELEBRATING!

  4. 4 Anastasia

    Congratulations!! I completely resonate with your comment about it being the hardest thing you’ve ever done…but not intellectually. You so deserve this and I’m glad it finally came together. Well done, friend.


Leave a comment