really, i’m still here

05Jul11

Not only am I still here, I actually have things to blog about, like why I never want to have a roommate again even though my current roommate experience has been brilliant. Or about my money malaise and why it might push me out of academia. Or about the woeful state of American television at the moment.

But instead, all I have to say is this: I don’t yet have a defense date scheduled, I still have serious revisions to do, but–as you might know if you’ve been following the writing group that Notorious, PHD and ADM have been hosting at their blogs–I’ve finished the last chapter of my dissertation and I’m writing my introduction. At the end of this week, I will have a full draft (minus conclusion) of my dissertation, ready to send off to the advisor.



8 Responses to “really, i’m still here”

  1. 1 Kristen

    Hang in there! Your introduction will be wonderful, and I found it wasn’t the hardest part to write, because I’d already thought so much about the project. It just flowed naturally, and I hope that is your experience too.

  2. 2 thefrogprincess

    Yeah, I’m having a rougher time with it than expected. I probably overthought it at the planning stage and so now feel all this pressure to make it amazing. (The fact that the advisor said it needs to be amazing for the job market isn’t helping either.) I am finding that the actual writing flows, but then I’m not convinced that I know what I’m talking about, b/c I’m not doing all the citing I would normally do. What I’m focusing on now is just getting the bulk of the ideas on paper, sending it to the advisor, putting it down for a little bit, and then fix it obsessively later.

  3. 3 Kristen

    I know that it is a pressure-filled time, so give yourself a pep talk and remember the old saying that “the best dissertation is the done dissertation.” It gets hard to concentrate at the end of the process, I was totally burned out, but YOU CAN DO THIS. Just take baby steps.

  4. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?

    I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send
    me an e-mail.

  5. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say
    wonderful blog!

  6. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided
    me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  7. I every time emailed this blog post page to all my friends, because if like to read it
    after that my contacts will too.

  8. Hey there excellent website! Does running a blog similar to this require a massive amount work?
    I have very little expertise in computer programming however I
    had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyway, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please
    share. I know this is off topic but I simply needed to ask.
    Thanks a lot!


Leave a comment